Sigma Tau Delta is the international English honor society, founded in 1924 with the mission of promoting the study and appreciation of English literature, language, and writing.  The Mu Sigma chapter was chartered at MSU Billings (then Eastern Montana College) in January 1984.  Professor Walt Utroske was the first faculty advisor, followed by Dr. Flora Willett in 1987 and Dr. Rachel Schaffer in 1988.

Sigma Tau Delta Seal

Membership and Eligibility

Both undergraduate and graduate students are eligible for lifetime membership in Sigma Tau Delta.  There is a onetime initiation fee, and the MSUB branch has very modest local dues, as well.  You need not be an English major to join, but there are several eligibility requirements:

  • At least 3 semesters completed.
  • At least 2 courses in English (including LIT, CRWR, LING, WRIT, and more) completed beyond the general education requirements.
  • At least a 3.0 general GPA and 3.0 GPA in English courses completed.


Every fall, we raise funds for English scholarships by selling Billings Area Preferred Coupon Books and by sponsoring the Writers Roundup, a book sale and signing for local and regional authors.  Every spring, we sponsor a poetry contest open to all MSUB students.  Other activities have included guest speakers, bake sales to raise funds for other causes, and end-of-semester socials.

Writers Roundup 2019 Volunteers

Writers Roundup Volunteers 2019


Cupcake Drive 2014

Cupcake Drive Fundraiser 2014


Sigma Tau Delta offers 3 scholarships every year to English majors. Money raised by the coupon book sale and the Writers Roundup funds 2 cash scholarships of $500 each.  There is also an endowed scholarship named in honor of beloved member Melissa Morgan.

Useful Links

Sigma Tau Delta National Website

Sigma Tau Delta Facebook Page

Mu Sigma Chapter Facebook Page

Mu Sigma Chapter Application Form

For more information, contact the faculty advisor, Dr. Rachel Schaffer, at