June 28, 2019


Susan Simmers


MSU Billings selects Vice Chancellor for Administration and Finance

 Susan Simmers, MBA will begin her role Aug. 19


University Relations and Communications, 657-2266


MSU BILLINGS NEWS—Montana State University Billings is pleased to announce that Susan Simmers, MBA, has been selected as Vice Chancellor for Administration and Finance (VCAF). She will assume her new role on August 19.

Previously, Simmers was Assistant Vice President for Finance of the University of Northern Colorado (UNC) in Greeley, Colorado.

"I look forward to Susan joining our team," said Chancellor Dan Edelman. "She brings a wealth of financial, business, and management knowledge to our institution. Her expertise will be invaluable as we align our budget with our strategic plan, work toward our enrollment goals, and make continual improvements with the stewardship of our financial resources."

Simmers has an MBA from Creighton University, a Bachelor of Business Administration from Saint Louis University, and a CPA Certificate issued by the State of Nebraska with plans to seek CPA licensure in Montana. Prior to her Assistant Vice President of Finance position at UNC, Simmers served as Assistant Vice President for Budget and Institutional Analysis.  Before joining UNC, Simmers was the Financial and Business Administration Officer at the Creighton University School of Dentistry in Omaha, Nebraska.  Simmers’ career spans roles in administration, institutional analysis, and financial management which includes budgeting, forecasting, accounting, and business services.  

The Vice Chancellor for Administration and Finance position was advertised on the MSUB website, Montana Job Service, NACUBO, TASSCUBO, and Indeed.com.

The search committee reviewed and evaluated 15 candidates. Four were selected for WebEx/phone interviews, and three finalists progressed to on-campus interviews.

The search committee for VCAF was comprised of Cyrine Boumediene, Ed Brown, Chris Eagan, Heather Hannah, JJ Hutzenbiler, Bill Kennedy, Terry Leist, Evelyn Noennig, Kristin Peterman, Barb Shafer, and Vicki Trier. The chair of the committee was Krista Montague.