February 27, 2019


Tom Rust, Matt Queen and Chancellor Edelman

 Tom Rust, Matt Queen and Chancellor Edelman


MSU Billings faculty recognized for excellence in teaching, research, and service

Faculty honored at the annual Faculty Excellence Awards held Feb. 21



University Communications and Marketing, 657-2266


MSU BILLINGS NEWS— Montana State University Billings recognized 17 outstanding faculty members on Thursday, Feb. 21 during the 2019 Faculty Excellence Awards ceremony. Special recognition was placed on achievements in teaching, scholarship, service, research, and other contributions outside the classroom.


This year’s annual MSU Billings Faculty Excellence Awards were held at Petro Theater followed by a reception in the Glacier Room.

ASMSUB Outstanding Faculty awardees included Patricia Nichols, university lecturer of rehabilitation and human services; Chad Landon, director of the paramedic program; Salma Boumediene, associate professor of business administration; Corinne Day, university lecturer of educational theory and practice; and Dr. Melissa Boehm, assistant professor of communication and theatre.

The Montana Center for Inclusive Education (MCIE) awarded the MCIE Award for Support of Students with Disabilities to two faculty members: Lynne Fitzgerald, assistant professor of outdoor adventure leadership; and, Brian Gurney, adjunct assistant professor of management and business administration.


Joy Honea, Ph.D., professor of sociology, was presented the Dr. Tasneem Khaleel award for Mentoring Young Female Professionals.

The Part-Time Faculty award went to Elizabeth Adcock, part-time music faculty member, while Christopher Craig, Ph.D., assistant professor of management, received the Outstanding Service Learning Award. Anna Talafuse, Ph.D., adjunct assistant professor of marketing, accepted the Excellence Award for Non-Tenured Faculty, and Anne Cole, instructor of reading and writing at City College, was presented with the Promoting International Student Success award. Steve Wodrich, autobody instructor at City College, received the City College Faculty Leadership Award.


Faculty Excellence awards were presented to three faculty members: Suzette Nynas, Ed.D., LAT, ATC, assistant professor of health and human performance; Matt Queen, Ph.D., assistant professor of biological and physical sciences; and, Tom Rust, Ph.D., professor of history.


Dr. Tom Nurmi, assistant professor of English, was presented with the Winston and Helen Cox Fellowship Award. The award was established in 1988 and recognizes outstanding junior faculty members in the College of Arts and Sciences.


The Walter and Charlotte Pippenger Excellence in Innovation Award was presented to Jessica Perius and Brenda Dockery, adjunct instructors of marketing; and Anna Talafuse, Ph.D., adjunct assistant professor of marketing. Established in 2005 by Richard and Cheri Cox, their sons Shaun and Scott Cox, and the members of the Cox family in honor of Mrs. Cox’s parents, this annual award is presented to an individual or group whose projects, efforts, and programs show significant development in the undergraduate teaching and learning experience.


Rounding out the awards ceremony, 22 faculty members were acknowledged for their years of service to the university.

Learn more about our Faculty Excellence awardees.