University Relations and Communications

Student leaders recognized at annual awards banquet

April 15, 2015



Lacey Solheid, Student Union, 657-2320
Carmen Price, University Relations and Communications, 657-2269


Students, staff, faculty and administration gathered Tuesday evening at the Billings Depot.


MSU BILLINGS NEWS SERVICES —  Montana State University Billings honored students, organizations and staff Tuesday evening during the annual Leadership Recognition Program awards banquet held at the Billings Depot.


Leadership Award


Lacey Solheid, MSUB’s student engagement coordinator, said the winners and nominees alike have demonstrated excellent leadership and commitment to MSU Billings over the past year. Awards were given to those who have exemplified outstanding academic and service leadership at MSU Billings.


“It is such an honor to work with these amazing student leaders and wonderful organizations,” Solheid said. “They put a lot of time and effort into their organizations and programs, so it is great to offer a time to recognize their efforts.”


Nikki Lund was named Outstanding President of the Year for her work with the Gender Studies Club, a student group whose mission is to bring inclusive, diverse discussions to the campus and students of Montana State University Billings while raising awareness of gender issues.


The Gender Studies Club swept the award for Outstanding Academic and Departmental Organization as well as the Outstanding Organization award.


Senior Leadership awards were given to Audrey Econom and Arthur Cherry.


The Outstanding Academic Leadership award went to international student Baudry Metangmo, of Douala in Cameroon, Africa.


Ladies basketball forward player Quinn Peoples took the Athletic Leadership Award.


Health Educators Reaching Others & Encouraging Success (HEROES) took the award for Outstanding Leadership and Programming Organization and its member Reba Borden was named Outstanding Member of an Organization.


Outstanding Residential Leader awards went to Ashely Merical, Connor Ralph, Cody Cooper and Landi Wilson. Overseeing these recipients, Alison Adams received the Outstanding Advisor Award for her work with the Residence Hall Association.


Other 2014 Leadership Recognition Award recipients are:

Lauren Staffor, Emerging Student Leader

Michael Bearcomesout, Outstanding Student Leader

Colton Adams, Student Employee Leadership

Tsz Ki Chan, International Student Leader

Daysi Bellota, Outstanding Graduate Student Leader

Derrick Anderson, Striving for Excellence in Leadership While Caring for One’s Family

Brett Stewart, Peer Educator

Kelli Grantham, Unsung Hero

Student United Way, Outstanding Service Organization

Veterans Service Organization, Outstanding Special Interest Organization

Running Club, Outstanding Sport and Recreation Organization

City College Connection, Outstanding Campus Media and Literary Organization

Belly Dance Club, Outstanding Performance and Visual Art Organization

Student Union Haunted House, Outstanding Organization Program or Event

Cans Around McMullen Hall, Outstanding Organization Service Project


PHOTO ABOVE: Student Leadership awardees gather for a group photo following the award banquet.