Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management

Dr. Oravecz with award-winning staff members

Student Affairs Recognition Ceremony


The Division of Student Affairs and Enrollment Management honors the diverse contributions of staff, faculty, and community stakeholders through various recognition awards, programs, and grant opportunities. Whether honoring supporting friends of the Division of Student Affairs and Enrollment Management, or current staff and faculty, we value each person’s unique contributions to the Division of Student Affairs and Enrollment Management and Montana State University in Billings. It is through opportunity and the extraordinary accomplishments of many that we lay the foundation for future Yellowjackets.

Collaborative Excellence Award

TheCollaborative Excellence Awardrecognizes a Student Affairs’ staff member department or group that has successfully partnered with colleagues to design and implement programs, activities, and/or services that enrich the MSUB experience, further student learning and/or optimize resources.


2017 Recipient Jaki Penninger: Online Support/Application Processing, Admissions & Records


Jackie Penner with Dr. Oravecz



Division of Student Affairs Partnership Award

The Division of Student Affairs Partnership Award is presented to individuals outside of the Division of Student Affairs and Enrollment Management who have actively worked to create a successful experience for a MSUB student, or group of students, by partnering with or by utilizing the resources and personnel within the Division of Student Affairs and Enrollment Management. The Partnership Awards are presented to individuals in four distinct categories: Faculty, Administration, Support Staff/Service Providers, and Off-Campus individuals. Nominations for the aforementioned awards should clearly define how the nominee worked to establish a successful outcome for the student(s) and how they utilized Divisional resources in doing so.


2017 Recipient   Trudy Collins: University Budget Director, Budget Office


Trudy with Dr. Oravecz


Past Recipients

2015-2016 Joann Stryker: Director, Institutional Research, Information Technology, Institutional Research, and eLearning

2014-2015  Brandon Gatlin: Sergeant, University Police



Spirit of MSUB Commitment to Access and Excellence Award

Spirit of MSUB: Commitment to Access & Excellence Award recognizes a staff member who demonstrates a commitment to the university’s guiding principles of access and excellence. This staff member displays exemplary performance and leadership in their own responsibilities as well as service to the division and university.


2017 Recipients
Donna Cooper: Admission Application Processing, Admissions & Records
Madeline Felts:
Associate Director, New Student Services


Dr. Oravecz with Donna and Maddie


Past Recipients

2015-2016  Tiffini Gallant: Campus Visit Coordinator, New Student Services

2014-2015  Heather Eggum: Associate Registrar, Admissions & Records



Innovation Award

Innovation Award is given to a Division of Student Affairs’ staff member, department or group that has generated one or more creative and novel initiatives to enhance our work, promote student learning and success, and deliver an innovative response to student needs.


2017 Recipient Shayla Fox: Volunteer Engagement Coordinator, Community Involvement


Shayla with Dr. Oravecz


Past Recipients

2015-2016  Vicki Burford: Mental Health Counselor, Student Health Services



Alison Adams: Int. Assistant Dir. of Housing and Residential Life, Residence Halls

Triniti Halverson: Interim Health Educator, Health Services



Vice Chancellor’s Award for Distinguished Service to Student Affairs


2017  Recipient Donna Cooper: Admission Application Processing, Admissions & Records


Donna with Dr. Oravecz 


Past Recipients

2015-2016  Cathy Copeland: Lead Sign Language Interpreter, Disability Support Services

2014-2015   Sue Weinreis: Financial Aid Specialist II, Financial Aid & Scholarships



Rising Star Award

Rising Star Awardrecognizes a staff member who has worked at MSU Billings for three years or less. This professional positively impacts, engages and/or supports the MSUB community, continually strives for excellence in job performance and exemplifies professionalism.


2017  Recipient Jenna Phillips: Phoenix Center, Student Health Services




Past Recipients

2015-2016  Tiffany Schlabs: Transcription Clerk, Admissions and Records

2014-2015   Michelle Schraudner: Cooperative Education Spec, Advising and Career Services



Student Affairs Rock Star Award Winners 2016-17


May 2017  Ed Brown: Director, Jackets & Company

February 2017 Mo Casey: International and Advising Specialist

November 2016  Trevor Belnap: Recruitment Specialist, New Student Services

August 2016  Aaron Like: Int. Assistant Director for Housing/Rimrock Hall Dir., Housing & Residential Life