University Relations and Communications

MSU Billings faculty honored for excellence in teaching, service, scholarship

 Dr. Leanne Gilbertson, Dean Christine Shearer


Dr. Leanne Gilbertson, art history professor and Northcutt Steele Gallery director, is presented with the Winston and Helen Cox Fellowship during the annual Faculty Excellence Award banquet by College of Arts and Sciences Dean Christine Shearer, left, and the Cox Family.


March 18, 2016


Carmen Price, University Relations & Communications, 657-2266


MSU BILLINGS NEWS SERVICES —  Montana State University Billings honored a group of outstanding faculty Thursday evening with special recognition of their achievements in teaching, scholarship, engagement, service and contributions beyond the classroom and lab during a celebration in their honor.


About 250 people attended the annual MSU Billings Faculty Excellence Awards celebration, which was held at the Northern Hotel with an awards ceremony and dinner. Faculty and students were joined by community and business leaders to honor the 13 faculty members being recognized.


Those honored by nomination from fellow faculty members, deans and others were Dr. Tim Urbaniak, drafting and design instructor at City College; Dr. Joshua Hill, assistant professor of economics; Dr. Tasneem Khaleel, professor of botany and biology; Dr. Sarah Friedman, assistant professor of earth science; Dr. Emily Arendt, assistant professor of history; Joy Barber, general education/writing instructor at City College; Craig McKenzie, instructor of computer systems technology and department chair at City College; Dr. Joshua Poulette, university lecturer of social sciences and cultural studies; Dr. Keith Edgerton, professor of history and department chair; Andrew Sullivan, process plant technology instructor and program coordinator at City College; and John Roberts, assistant professor of low brass.

Dr. Leanne Gilbertson, assistant professor of art history and Northcutt Steele Gallery Director and Dr. Samuel Boerboom, assistant professor of communication were both awarded with the Winston and Helen Cox Fellowship. The endowment, established in 1988, recognizes outstanding junior faculty members in the College of Arts and Sciences.


The Walter and Charlotte Pippenger Excellence in Innovation Award was given to Derrick MacAskill, Facilities Services electrician, Jason McGimpey, Facilities Services director, and Francisco Saldivar, sustainable energy technology instructor and business construction department chair at City College, for their MSU Billings Solar Energy Project.


The award was established in 2005 by Richard and Cheri Cox, their sons Shaun and Scott Cox, and the members of the Cox Family in honor of Mrs. Cox’s parents. It’s awarded each year to an individual or group whose efforts, projects or programs demonstrate significant improvement in the undergraduate teaching and learning experience.


»» Learn more about our Faculty Excellence Awardees