University Relations and Communications

Student leaders recognized at annual awards banquet


Students, staff, faculty and administration gathered Tuesday evening at the Billings Depot to honor students, organizations and advisors


April 15, 2016



Lacey Solheid, Student Union, 657-2320
University Relations and Communications, 657-2269
Carmen Price, University Relations and Communications, 657-2269 


MSU BILLINGS NEWS SERVICES — Montana State University Billings honored students, organizations and staff Tuesday evening during the annual Leadership Recognition Program awards banquet held at the Billings Depot.


“The Leadership Recognition Program is my favorite event all year that MSUB hosts,” Lacey Solheid, student engagement coordinator, said. “It’s a time to celebrate the awesome accomplishments of all of our student leaders and organizations. We really have a talented group of students that have done wonderful things for the university and city of Billings. It brings tears to my eyes to see how proud my colleagues are as they present all of the awards. We’re truly blessed as professionals to work with such an outstanding population.”


Solheid said the winners and nominees alike have demonstrated excellent leadership and commitment to MSU Billings over the past year. Awards were given to those who have exemplified outstanding academic and service leadership.


“Students put a lot of time and effort into their organizations and programs, so it is great to offer a time to recognize their efforts,” Solheid said.


Bessie Crooked Arm was named Outstanding President of the Year for her work with the American Indian Business Leaders, a student group whose mission is to bring inclusive, diverse discussions to the campus and students of Montana State University Billings while raising awareness of gender issues. On April 9, Crooked Arm and her AIBL group won first place at the annual AIBL National Conference.


The Emerging Student Leader award went to Shimmeri Secrist of Student Support Services/TRiO.


The Outstanding Academic Leadership award went to Scott Gorman, also of Student Support Services/TRiO.

Olivia Calabrese was recognized as the Outstanding Graduate Student.


Men’s cross country athlete Matt Winter took the Athletic Leadership Award.


Sarah Gallup was named the Outstanding Student Volunteer and the Student Employee Leadership awards went to Tony Solberg and Daniel Mehrens-Wallace.


SkillsUSA earned the Overall Outstanding Student Organization as well as the Academic/Honorary Student Organization awards.


Other 2016 Leadership Recognition Award recipients are:
Sandra Benz, Outstanding Member of an Organization
Phillene Whiteman, Outstanding Member of an Organization
Bessie Gondwe, International Student Leader
Ranielle Santos, Outstanding Residential Leader
Koby Kasten, Striving for Excellence in Leadership While Caring for One’s Family
Reba Borden, Peer Educator, HEROES
Baudry Metangmo, Senior Leadership
Jessie Hahne, Senior Leadership
Ed Becker, Outstanding Advisor
Kris Douglas, Unsung Hero
Outstanding Program/Event, Jazz Festival 2016
Outstanding Service Project, Angel Tree and Holiday Food Drive
Outstanding Student Organization: Campus Support, Student United Way
Outstanding Student Organization: Departmental/Student Fee Fund, Student Activities Board