University Relations and Communications

Annual Juried Student Exhibition to feature 23 student artists

2016 Juried Student Exhibition

Artist Reception & Awards Ceremony April 21, 5 p.m. - 7 p.m. (Awards announced at 6pm)


April 5, 2016


Dr. Leanne Gilbertson, Northcutt Steele Gallery, 657-2903
Carmen Price, University Relations and Communications, 657-2266


MSU BILLINGS NEWS SERVICES —  MSUB Department of Art’s 2016 Juried Student Exhibition reception and awards ceremony will be held April 21 in the Northcutt Steele Gallery.


The exhibit opened March 31 and will remain on view through May 6. The catered reception and awards ceremony will be held 5 to 7 p.m. and is free and open to the public. 


“The 37 artworks selected for exhibition testify to the rich talents and diverse visions of MSUB students working across a range of media,” Northcutt Steele Gallery Director Dr. Leanne Gilbertson said.


This year’s guest juror, Catherine Louisa Eithier, will announce cash awards for selected artworks at 6 p.m. Announcements of MSUB’s Department of Art’s annual scholarship winners will follow. Eithier received her BFA from Montana State University with a minor in Art History. She has been the owner of the Catherine Louisa Gallery in Billings since 2011 and currently represents approximately 36 contemporary artists. 


The exhibiting artists are: Meliah Bell, Katelynn Burg, Karin Calabrese, Neala Crasco, Charis Craven, Samantha Finch, Shayla Fiscus, Cassie Francisco, Ruby Hahn, Kyle Hedden, Zachary Hinkle, Carolina Lauver, Amanda Losness, Bonny Beth Luhman, Amy Mason, Fred Muller, Marshall Pentecost, Stephanie Slavin, Anastasia Swarthout, Levi Weeks, Beth Wertman, Patrick Williams, and Dylan Woods. 


The Northcutt Steele Gallery is located on the first floor of the Liberal Arts on the Montana State University Billings campus. The gallery is open Monday – Friday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., and by appointment. For more information and to view samples of the featured works please visit: