DATE:           April 23, 2009


PRESENT:    Dan Yazak                                          Sandie Rietz

                        Paul Bauer                                           Lorrie Steerey

                        Craig McKenzie                                  Mark Hardt

                        Bruce Brumley

                        Gary Young (ex-officio)                     John Cech (ex-officio)

                        Sue Balter-Reitz (ex-officio)              D’Ann Campbell (ex-officio)


ABSENT:      Jeff Sanders*                                      Don Larsen*

                        Rakesh Sah*                                       Keith Edgerton*

                        Doug Brown*                                     Steve Coffman*

                        Diane Duin (ex-officio)                      Tasneem Khaleel (ex-officio)*

                        Mary Susan Fishbaugh (ex-officio)*  Karen Heikel (ex-officio)*

                        Terrie Iverson (ex-officio)                   Stacy Klippenstein (ex-officio)          

* excused


PRESIDING:                                                                   Lorrie Steerey, Chair



Lorrie Steerey called the meeting to order at 3:47 p.m. in the North Conference Room of the COT Health Sciences Building.


The minutes of April 16 were accepted as presented.




COB Representative:  Don Larsen

COT Representative:  Paul Bauer

At-Large Representatives:  Doug Brown, Lorrie Steerey, Rakesh Sah, Keith Edgerton, Bruce Brumley


The Senate welcomed those Senators able to attend today’s meeting.




A.  Three Vice Chairs


̃ Bruce Brumley nominated Paul Bauer for Vice Chair.  Mr. Bauer accepted.


̃ Craig McKenzie nominated Sandie Rietz for Vice Chair.  Dr. Rietz accepted.


̃ Sandie Rietz nominated Mark Hardt for Vice Chair.  Dr. Hardt accepted.


B.  Secretary


̃ Bruce Brumley volunteered for the position of Secretary.




It was noted that there is a large amount of curriculum changes which have just come forward this week.  Both the UCC and Senate will take no action on them this semester.


Item 64  Graduate Committee Report 2008-2009.


̃ Motion by Mark Hardt, seconded by Sandie Rietz to approve Item 64.


Sue Balter-Reitz, Chair of the Graduate Committee, noted that the Committee will begin a discussion of a policy for the GRE in the fall.  In 2007, the Board of Regents removed all requirements for any entrance exam for graduate school.  The Graduate Committee will not be enforcing any particular campus-wide policy on the GRE, but rather will ask the graduate programs to clarify their entrance requirements.  There will also not be a required minimum score.


It was noted that it is important to get the word out to faculty that it is now up to them to decide entrance requirements for their programs, since the BOR no longer has any policies on the matter.


̃ Motion carried.


̃ Motion by Sandie Rietz, seconded by Dan Yazak to waive second reading of Item 64.


̃ Motion carried.


Item 65  Committee Roster 2009-2010.


̃ Motion by Sandie Rietz, seconded by Dan Yazak to approve Item 65.


̃ Motion carried.


̃ Motion by Mark Hardt, seconded by Sandie Rietz to waive second reading of Item 65.


̃ Motion carried.




A.  Board of Regents:  May 28-29 in Great Falls


If anyone would like to attend, please let Dr. Steerey know.


B.  Faculty Attendance at Convocations May 1 and Commencement May 2


The Senate encourages all faculty to attend the Convocation and Commencement ceremonies.


C.  AFC Report


Dr. Steerey stated that the AFC thought there was 80% participation (which is the Committee’s goal) for Fall 2008 assessment.  However, we are currently at 71%.  The AFC members will continue to contact faculty to support them in entering assessment data.  It was noted that 71% is much better than the 20% participation of Spring 2008.  Dr. Steerey also noted that the AFC will be making decisions on courses and assessment objectives in the Fall 2009 semester.


D.  August Academic Senate Retreat


The Retreat will be Friday, August 28 at noon or 1:00 p.m.



The meeting adjourned at 4:03 p.m.