DATE:           October 1, 2009


PRESENT:    Dan Yazak                                          Jeff Sanders

                        Don Larsen                                         Sandie Rietz

                        Paul Bauer                                           Rakesh Sah

                        Lorrie Steerey                                     Craig McKenzie

                        Keith Edgerton                                   Mark Hardt

                        Bruce Brumley                                    Steve Coffman

                        Michael Barton (student)

                        Diane Duin (ex-officio)                      Tasneem Khaleel (ex-officio)

                        Mary Susan Fishbaugh (ex-officio)    Karen Heikel (ex-officio)

                        D’Ann Campbell (ex-officio)             Terrie Iverson (ex-officio)

                        Stacy Klippenstein (ex-officio)

                        Kay Streeter (Budget Comm.)            Brian Reed (Budget Comm.)

                        Liz Tooley (Budget Comm.)               LeAnn Anderson (Budget Comm.)

                        Michael Barber (Budget Comm.)       Jane Howell (Budget Comm.)

                        Susan Stewart (Budget Comm.)         Linda Wham (Budget Comm.)

                        Tammi Miller (Budget Comm.)          Ronald Sexton (Budget Comm.)


ABSENT:      Gary Young (ex-officio)*                   John Cech (ex-officio)

                        Sue Balter-Reitz (ex-officio)

* excused


GUESTS:       Susan Gilbertz                                     Stan Wiatr

                        Two student observers


PRESIDING:                                                                   Lorrie Steerey, Chair



Lorrie Steerey called the meeting to order at 3:40 p.m. in McMullen 305.


The minutes of September 17 were accepted as presented.




A.  Sabbatical Committee Nominees


Sue Hart

Judy McEnany

Brian Dillon

Patricia Vettel-Becker

Lisa Kemmerer

Sarah Keller

Brian Cast

Connie Landis

James Nowlin

Sue Balter-Reitz


Ž Motion by Bruce Brumley, seconded by Dan Yazak to forward this list to the Provost.


Ž Motion carried.


B.  CPSLL Course


Sandie Rietz stated that the CPSLL Curriculum Committee met to discuss the workshop course as well as establish the purpose of the Curriculum Committee.  Some things are not appropriate for a Curriculum Committee to review, such as courses specially arranged with the community, which is the case in this situation.  Part of the mission of the CPSLL is to develop courses.  These courses may, in the future, become a certificate of some kind and the Curriculum Committee would review such a proposal.


The Senate agreed that no action on the course is needed at this time.


A.  Environmental Studies Program

            Guest:  Susan Gilbertz, Assistant Professor


Jeff Sanders, Chair of Sociology, Political Science, Native American Studies, and Environmental Studies, noted that he met with Dean Tasneem Khaleel to discuss his concerns, such as the Environmental Studies major going away.  Dean Khaleel assured him that the program will stay.


Dr. Gilbertz noted that she had heard she would be moving to Biological & Physical Sciences since she teaches the Geography courses, and this move would leave holes in the Environmental Studies curriculum.  If those courses are taught by part-time faculty, then 90% of the program will be delivered by part-time faculty.  It was stated that Dr. Gilbertz is not going to move to Biological & Physical Sciences.


Dr. Sanders cited that he has taken on some of the duties which Dr. Gilbertz performed as Program Director.  However, Dr. Gilbertz is still advising all of the Environmental Studies majors—42 students this Fall.  Essentially, she has taken a pay cut without a real decrease in duties.  Dean Khaleel noted that with Environmental Studies in a department, other faculty advisors would be available.  Dr. Gilbertz noted that the other faculty members are already busy and will not take on additional advisees.  Dean Khaleel noted that NWCCU requested we move free-standing majors into departments, which is why Environmental Studies was moved into this department.


The community advisory board for Environmental Studies will continue to meet with Dr. Sanders.  However, the interdisciplinary faculty group which made up the improvised “department” will no longer meet.  It was cited that it is hard to keep an interdisciplinary program going if the faculty never come together.  Dr. Gilbertz noted that she will meet the students as freshmen advisees and students will take the capstone course from her, but in between there may be no interaction.  It was cited that it’s difficult to assess the students’ progress and the program if the students only interact with part-time faculty.


It was stated that there seems to be a large issue here that is not being discussed.  Several Senators agreed to meet with Dr. Gilbertz before bringing this issue back to the Academic Senate.


It was noted that there are lessons here to be learned for future interdisciplinary programs.



The meeting adjourned at 4:07 p.m. to begin the Budget Committee meeting.