Using competency permissions to support workflow
There is a user security permission associated with each status. These permissions only apply to users who have the permission Manage Competencies; users who do not have this permission will only see approved competencies and their children.
In the interface, users can only see the competencies whose status they have permission to see.
For example, if a user only has permission to see In Review competencies, then on the Competency List page they will see:
- Competency elements whose status is In Review.
- Learning objectives attached to In Review competencies.
- independent learning learning objectives and assessments (that is, ones that are not attached to any competency—all users can see these elements since they have no status).
In addition, there is a separate permission Set Competency Status that controls whether a user is able to change the status of a competency.
Using these permissions together you can establish a workflow process that controls which users have access to competencies at each stage in their life-cycle, and who has the authority to move a competency forward to the next stage (or bump it back to a previous one) by changing the status.
Desire2Learn Help © 1999-2012 Desire2Learn Incorporated. All rights reserved.