Mission Statement: To create an inclusive campus environment that focuses on education, service, and community involvement to achieve cultural competence that respects and values all aspects of diversity.
Calendar of Events




September 2014

  • Sept. 17: Keep It Real Diverse at 2 pm
  • Sept. 25: DIG Monthly Meeting at 3-4 pm SUB-Missouri

October 2014

  • Disability Awareness Month
  • Oct. 4: Pilgrimage Festival (Muslim)
  • Oct. 7: Safe Zone Training
    LA205, 2:30-4:30 p.m. by Alison Adams
  • Oct. 8: National Coming Out Day
    LI Hall, 11:30 a.m.
  • Oct. 9: National Coming Out Day
    SUB Atrium, 11:00 a.m.
  • Oct. 10: National Coming Out Day
    City College, 11:00 a.m.
  • Oct. 11: National Coming Out Day
  • Oct. 24: DIG Monthly Meeting at 10-11 am SUB-Beartooth
  • Oct. 30: Dia de Muertos
    SUB Atrium

November 2014

  • Nov. 1-3: Dia de Muertos/Day of the Dead
    SUB Atrium
  • Nov. 5: Inter Tribal Indian Club – 11:30 am American Indian Outreach Office
  • Nov. 7: ITIC Native Forum – 11am – 1pm SUB atrium
  • Nov. 10: Veterans on Campus - 1 pm SUB Beartooth Room
  • Nov. 11: Veteran’s Day
  • Nov. 12: Veteran’s Medicine Wheel – Noon – LA South Lawn
  • Nov. 12: Inter Tribal Indian Club – 3:30 pm City College
  • Nov. 14: ITIC Fry bread Fundraiser – 11am – 1pm LA building
  • Nov. 17: Rock Your Mocs Day
  • Nov. 19: Native Beading Workshop
  • Nov. 20: Native Film Festival - 5:00-9:00 pm LA 205 (2 movies)
  • Nov. 20: National Transgender Day of Remembrance (Wear Purple)
  • Nov. 20: DIG Monthly Meeting at 3-4 pm SUB-Missouri
  • Nov. 26: Native American Heritage Day

December 2014

  • Interfaith Month
  • Dec. 1: World AIDS Day
  • Dec. 10: Universal Human Rights Day
  • Dec. 11: Interfaith Month at 10 am
  • Dec. 11: War on Christianity Open Discussion SUB Banquet A & B
  • Dec. 16-24: Hanukkah
  • Dec. 19: DIG Monthly Meeting at 10-11 am SUB-Beartooth
  • Dec. 25: Christmas
  • Dec. 26: Universal Human Rights Day


January 2015

  • Poverty in America Awareness Month
  • Jan. TBA: Service Opportunity at 11 am-1 pm Childcare Center
  • Jan. 19: Martin Luther King Day
  • Jan. 19-24: Power of One Week: Change Starts With One
  • Jan. 22: DIG Monthly Meeting at 3-4 pm SUB-Missouri

February 2015

  • Black History Month
  • Ethnic Equality Month
  • Feb. TBA: Black History Month
  • Feb. 27: DIG Monthly Meeting at 10-11 am SUB-Beartooth
  • Feb. 27: Movie: To Light a Candle, 3:00 pm, LA 205

March 2015

  • Gender Equality/Women’s History Month
  • Irish American History Month
  • Mar. TBA: Women's History
  • Mar. 17: St. Patrick’s Day
  • Mar. 20: Roundtable Discussion Workshop, 2:00 pm, SUB Banquet A&B
  • Mar. 17: St. Patrick’s Day
  • Mar. 26: DIG Monthly Meeting at 3-4 pm SUB-Missouri
  • Mar. 26: International Food Fair, 4:30 pm, Rimrock Café

April 2015

  • Autism Awareness Month
  • Apr. TBA: Autism Awareness
  • Apr. 23: Earth Day
  • Apr. 24: University Day
  • Apr. 24: DIG Monthly Meeting at 10-11 am SUB-Beartooth

May 2015

  • Mental Health Awareness Month
  • Asian Pacific Islander History Month
  • May 5: Cinco de Mayo

June 2015

  • National Trauma Awareness Month
  • June TBA: Trauma Awareness
  • June 28: Ramadan Begins

July 2015

  • Mental Health Awareness Month
  • Asian Pacific Islander History Month
  • July 4: USA Independence Day
  • July 28: Ramadan Ends
About Us


Diversity   Representative Needed
 
TRiO/SSS   Kelly Buck Co-Chair
Co-Chair of Steering Committee
kelly.buck@msubillings.edu
Mandy Brottem
mandy.brottem@msubillings.edu
 
Staff Senate & Financial Aid   Holly Hofer
Faculty & Staff Involvement Committee
holly.hofer@msubillings.edu
 
Financial Aid & Scholarships   Elizabeth Almann
Marketing Committee
elizabeth.almann@msubillings.edu
 
New Student & Retention Services   Gillette Vaira
Chair of Marketing Committee
gillette.vaira@msubillings.edu
 
Disability Support Services   Trudy Carey
trudy.carey@msubillings.edu
 
Housing & Student Life   Alison Adams
Student Involvement Committee
alison.adams1@msubillings.edu
 
College of Education   Greg Allard
gallard@msubillings.edu
 
City College Faculty   Joy Barber
Student Involvement Committee
joy.barber@msubillings.edu
 
College of Arts & Sciences
American Indian Outreach
  Reno Charette
rcharette@msubillings.edu
 
College of Allied Health   Amber McDermott
Faculty & Staff Involvement Committee
amber.mcdermott@msubillings.edu
 
College of Business   Patricio Mori
Faculty & Staff Involvement Committee
patricio.mori@msubillings.edu
 
City College Staff   Kirtlye Schuman
Faculty & Staff Involvement Committee
kschuman@msubillngs.edu
Steven Peterman
speterman@msubillngs.edu
 
Facility Services   Tim Gulbranson
tgulbranson@msubillings.edu
 
Garfield Community Center   Shelly Ovalle
shelly.ovalle@msubillings.edu
 
ASMSUB   Daniel Barnhart
asmsub_pres@msubillings.edu
 
Advising Center   Kari Rea, Co-Chair
Co-Chair of Steering Committee
kari.rea@msubillings.edu
 
Alumni Relations   Alayna Lacher
Marketing Committee
alayna.lacher@msubillings.edu
 
International Studies/IELP   Mehmet Casey, Co-Chair
Co-Chair of Steering Committee / Marketing Committee
mehmet.casey@msubillings.edu
 
Athletics   Michael Bazemore
Marketing Committee
michael.bazemore@msubillings.edu
 
Veterans Upward Bound   Representative Needed
 
Library   Eilleen Wright
Student Involvement Committee
ewright@msubillings.edu
 
Campus Police   Representative Needed
 
Human Resources   Representative Needed
 
New Student Services   Liz Stilwell Seab
estilwell@msubillings.edu
 
Student Health Services   Triniti Halverson
triniti.halverson@msubillings.edu
 
Admissions and Records   Representative Needed
 
University Relations   Carmen Price
Marketing Committee
carmen.price@msubillings.edu
 
Jackets & Company   Chad Schreier
Marketing Committee
chad.schreier@msubillings.edu
 
Student Engagement   Lacey Solheid
Student Involvement Committee
lacey.solheid@msubillings.edu
 
Office for Community Involvement   Lauren Wright
Student Involvement Committee
lauren.wright4@msubillings.edu
 
Art Gallery Director/Assistant Professor   Leanne Gilbertson
leanne.gilbertson@msubillings.edu
 
Extended Campus   Laura Gittings – Carlson
Marketing Committee
l.gittingscarlson@msubillings.edu
 
English, Philosophy & Modern Languages Faculty   Lisa Kemmerer
lkemmerer@msubillings.edu
 
United Campus Minister   Rob Kirby
rkirby@msubillings.edu
List of Activities & Events




September 2014

  • Sept. 17: Keep It Real Diverse at 2 pm
  • Sept. 25: DIG Monthly Meeting at 3-4 pm SUB-Missouri

October 2014

  • Oct. 4: Pilgrimage Festival (Muslim)
  • Oct. 7: Safe Zone Training
    LA205, 2:30-4:30 p.m. by Alison Adams
  • Oct. 8: National Coming Out Day
    LI Hall, 11:30 a.m.
  • Oct. 9: National Coming Out Day
    SUB Atrium, 11:00 a.m.
  • Oct. 10: National Coming Out Day
    City College, 11:00 a.m.
  • Oct. 11: National Coming Out Day
  • Oct. 24: DIG Monthly Meeting at 10-11 am SUB-Beartooth
  • Oct. 27: PTSD Disability Awareness by speaker, Brenda Roche
    Three sessions in COE 122
    10:00-11:30 a.m., 1:00-2:30 p.m., 3:00-4:30 p.m.
  • Oct. 30: Dia de Muertos
    SUB Atrium

November 2014

  • Nov. 1-3: Dia de Muertos/Day of the Dead
    SUB Atrium
  • Nov. 10: Veteran Panel at 2 pm
  • Nov. 17: Workshop Review Tables Discussion
    2:00 p.m., Location TBA
  • Nov. 20: National Transgender Day of Remembrance (Wear Purple)
  • Nov. 20: DIG Monthly Meeting at 3-4 pm SUB-Missouri

December 2014

  • Dec. 18: Interfaith Month at 10 am
  • Dec. 19: DIG Monthly Meeting at 10-11 am SUB-Beartooth


January 2015

  • Jan. TBA: Service Opportunity at 11 am-1 pm Childcare Center
  • Jan. 22: DIG Monthly Meeting at 3-4 pm SUB-Missouri

February 2015

  • Feb. TBA: Black History Month
  • Feb. 27: DIG Monthly Meeting at 10-11 am SUB-Beartooth

March 2015

  • Mar. TBA: Women's History
  • Mar. 26: DIG Monthly Meeting at 3-4 pm SUB-Missouri

April 2015

  • Apr. TBA: Autism Awareness
  • Apr. 24: DIG Monthly Meeting at 10-11 am SUB-Beartooth

May 2015

  • May TBA: Asian - Pacific Islander Hertiage Month

June 2015

  • June TBA: Trauma Awareness


Diversity Site Map
 Peer Mentor Program
Diversity Initiative Group
Student Organization

Office Contact Information
Phone: 406-896-5902

Student Union Building Room 212
Office Hours: M-F 8:00-5:00

Peer Mentors: 406-657-2185


Facebook icon
Flikr icon
Instagram icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
MSUB mobile app icon
A-Z Index: A | B |C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
myInfo
1500 University Drive | Billings, MT 59101 | 406.657.2011 | 800.565.6782 | © 2010 Montana State University Billings | webmaster@msubillings.edu