Conferences and Events

Montana Ready: Disaster Preparedness 2011
September 15-16, 2011

Commissioner Sally A. Heyman

Sally Heyman

Commissioner Sally A. Heyman was first elected to the District 4 seat of the Miami-Dade Board of County Commissioners in September 2002 after serving in the Florida House of Representatives for four consecutive terms. Prior to being elected to the Florida Legislature in 1994, Commissioner Heyman served as an elected council member for the City of North Miami Beach for seven years, and worked for the City of Miami and North Miami Beach Police Departments.

Commissioner Heyman has an educational and professional background in criminal justice and law enforcement that includes a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Florida, a Master of Science degree from Nova University and a Juris Doctorate degree from the University of Miami. In addition to being a member of the Florida Bar, she holds state and national certification in crime prevention.

She is a Crime and Loss Prevention Specialist and Attorney, and has her own consulting firm specializing in premises liability and criminal victimization, and is an Adjunct Professor.

Serving in her third elected role, Commissioner Heyman displays untiring energy in supporting human issues legislation, especially in the areas of funding social services; the protection and care of women, children and vulnerable adults; protecting personal freedoms; affordable healthcare; and green-sustainability initiatives.

Sally grew up in South Florida and attended Dade County Public Schools. She has been and remains active in charitable, women’s issues, political and community organizations and activities.

The Commissioner is currently a Board Member Florida Association of Counties (FAC); FAC Vice Chair Large Urban Counties (LUC); Board Member National Association of Counties (NACo); NACo Steering Committee for Large Urban Counties Caucus (LUCC); NACo Public Safety and Justice Committee; NACo Vice-Chair - Emergency Management and Domestic Security Committee; member National Homeland Security Consortium.

Miami-Dade County Commissioner Sally Heyman, District 4

Stephen P. Clark Center
111 N.W. First Street, Suite 22
Miami, FL 33128
305-372-6179 (fax)

District Office
1100 N.E. 163 Street, Suite 30
North Miami Beach, FL 3316
305-787-5998 (fax)

Commissioner Heyman’s staff: Bonnie Michaels, Chief of Staff; Mary Ferreiro, Office Manager; Norma Jay, Margie Amador, Lorna Mejia, Vivian Suarez and Margot Mankes

Facebook icon
Flikr icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
A-Z Index: A | B |C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
1500 University Drive | Billings, MT 59101 | 406.657.2011 | 800.565.6782 | © 2010 Montana State University Billings |