ICS-400 Training

Who Must Take It, What It Covers

Command and General Staff

All Federal/State/Local/Tribal/Private Sector & Nongovernmental personnel should take ICS-400, including:

Persons who will serve as command or general staff in an ICS organization, select department heads with multi-agency coordination system responsibilities, area commanders, emergency managers, and multi-agency coordination system/emergency operations center managers.*

Approved ICS-400 level training may be developed and conducted by Federal, State, Local and Tribal agencies as well as private training vendors.  However, it must include the content and objectives stated in the NIMS National Standard Curriculum Training Development Guidance dated March, 2007.

* All Federal, State and local emergency personnel need to decide who within their organizations should take this training.

Training developed and conducted by State and Tribal entities as well as private training vendors at the ICS-400 level must include at a minimum, the following topical areas (Specific objectives for ICS-300 training are listed in the National Standard Curriculum Training Development Guidance, March 2007):

  • Command and General Staff
  • Deputies and assistants
  • Unified command
  • Organizational relationships between Area Command, Unified Command, Multi Entity Coordination Systems, and Emergency Operations centers (EOCs)

ICS-300 and 400 course materials are State-administered programs and are coded as G300-Intermediate ICS – Expanding Incidents and G400-Advanced ICS, Command and General Staff – Complex Incidents. For additional information on these courses, please contact your state emergency management agency.


Cancellations, Transfers, and Refunds

Back to NIMS menu