Undergraduate College and University Section

2007-2008 Officers


Steve Coffman is this year’s chair of the UCUS. He is a Professor in the Communication and Theatre Department at MSU-Billings.  He teaches courses in interpersonal communication, task group process, and leadership and organizational communication. Website



Vickie Harvey is past-chair of the UCUS. She is an Associate Professor in the Communication Studies Department at California State University, Stanislaus. She teaches courses in relational communication, interpersonal communication, nonverbal, and professional interviewing. Her primary areas of research include cross-sex friendship challenges and health communication.








Nancy Burroughs is vice-chair of the UCUS.  She is an Assistant Professor the Communication Studies Department at California State University, Stanislaus.







Colleen Garside is secretary of the UCUS.  She is a faculty member at Weber State University.  Her academic interests include Communication across the curriculum, Feminism and gender studies, Communication education, Instructional communication and Intercultural communication.


Mabry O’Donnell is vice-chair elect of the UCUS.   She is the McCoy Professor of Communication at Marietta College. She has received many awards and fellowships.  Ohio Magazine named her one of Ohio's top educators in December 2003. She teaches courses in Oral, Intercultural and Business Communication.




Alice Araujo is chair of the Small College Interest Group.  She is an Associate Professor at Mary Baldwin College. She teaches courses in Women and Film, Intercultural, Gender, Interpersonal and Small Group Communication and Communication Research.  Dr. Araujo has received two grants from the National Institutes of Health. Her research interests also include intercultural alliances with a focus on social class.